Coconut Custard Pie

When it comes to food, I tend to be a very visual person: if the food looks good,  my subconscious reasons, it must be good. I know many times this is a wrong assumption, but I can’t help it. So when I saw a Coconut Custard Pie on the label of a can of A Taste of Thai: Coconut Milk, I knew I had to make it. And the recipe proved to be way too easy. Mix 4 ingredients together; heat two ingredients together; pour into a pie crust; sprinkle coconut flakes on top; bake; cool; eat. Simple.

The original recipe called for a 9-inch pie crust. Instead of running to the store (literally, since I can’t drive yet), I used the graham crackers I had to make a crust. If you already have a pie crust (or a license), then you can use that instead. Also, the recipe called for 3/4 cup flaked coconut; I just ‘sprinkled’ handfuls of the flakes on the custard. No measurements needed.

As a side-note: I still have about 1/2 a bag of coconut flakes that need to used; does anyone have a favorite recipe using coconut flakes? I’m open to any suggestions!

Ingredients for Graham Cracker crust:

  • 10 graham crackers, crushed
  • 3-4 tbsp melted butter

Method:

Mix the graham cracker crumbs and butter together. Press this firmly onto the bottom of a prepared baking pan. Bake for 10 minutes at 325F.  Let cool.

Ingredients for Custard:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 13.5 oz coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • flaked coconut

Method:

First beat together the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt in a large bowl. In a saucepan, whisk the coconut milk and cornstarch together until the cornstarch has dissolved. Heat the coconut milk over medium heat, stirring constantly to make sure the milk doesn’t burn. Once the mixture has thickened, slowly drizzle it into the egg mixture, beating constantly. Pour this into the graham cracker crust and add the coconut flakes on top. Bake for 30-40 minutes on 350F. Cool for at least 10 minutes before serving. Best served cold.

~The Teen

Leave a Reply

