Chocolate-Chip Almond Cookies

Originally I planned on making White Chocolate-Macadamia Cookies; however, I wasn’t able to buy macadamia nuts and so I had to change tactics. I searched the pantry and found almonds, which I reasoned would do as a substitute for macadamia nuts. And thus the recipe “Chocolate-Chip Almond Cookies” was born.  I adjusted the recipe “White Chocolate-Macadamia Cookies” from Cookies! Favorite Recipes for Dropped, Rolled & Shaped Cookies by Good Housekeeping to make these cookies.

I also added milk chocolate-chips to the cookies as well as the white chocolate-chips. This was to console my sweet-tooth for the loss of the macadamia nuts (even though the nuts aren’t sweet…).

If you’re hoping to make shaped cookies, I suggest using the Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal Cookie recipe  I previously posted because the cookie dough in that recipe is stiffer and easier to shape. Trust me, though: both recipes have great-tasting results!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • about 3/4 cup white-baking chips
  • about 1/4 cup milk chocolate chips
  • about 1/3 cup chopped almonds

Method:

Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl. In a large bowl, beat together the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Next, beat in the eggs and vanilla extract; then mix in the flour mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips and almonds.

Drop balls of the dough onto a prepared baking pan. Bake at 375F for about 10minutes; cool before enjoying!

~The Teen

2 thoughts on “Chocolate-Chip Almond Cookies

Leave a Reply

