Tres Leches

I never really had any doubts about pouring milk over a cake until, well, I did it. Pouring milk over the cake I had just made, made me cringe. I forced myself to pour the rest of the milk over the cake, like the recipe said. I took a deep breathe, wrapped the pan in aluminum foil and placed it in the fridge. The next day I hastily ripped off the foil and examined the cake: it didn’t look too bad. In fact, it didn’t look that bad at all. I whipped up heavy cream and a little bit of sugar, and then slathered the cake with it. The cake spent another hour in the fridge before it passed the taste test with me and my family.

Unlike what you might be thinking, this recipe works. The cake wasn’t soggy or gross: it was delicious. It was a fairly easy cake to make as well, considering all you have to do is mix up the batter, bake it, soak it, refrigerate it, and cover it in whipped cream. The original recipe comes from The Pioneer Woman.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 can sweetened, condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • whipped cream

Method:

Mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Separate the eggs. Beat the egg yolks with 3/4 cup sugar. Stir in the milk and vanilla. Pour the egg yolk mixture over the flour mix and stir until just combined.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until peaks begin to form; then pour 1/4 cup sugar into it and beat until stiff peaks form. Very gently fold the egg white mixture into the other batter and pour into a well-buttered/sprayed pan (the pan should be about 9 x 13 inches). Bake for about 25 minutes at 350F. Let cool.

In a pitcher combine the evaporated milk, sweetened, condensed milk, and heavy cream. Once the cake is cool, pierce the surface of the cake with a fork several times. Slowly pour all but 1 cup of the milk onto the whole cake. Wrap the cake and allow it to absorb the milks for a few hours (I left it overnight in the fridge).

When the cake is ready, spread whipped cream all over it (I whipped up about 2 cups of heavy cream with a tablespoon of superfine sugar). For garnish grate nutmeg over the cake (or just a slice).

~The Teen

3 thoughts on “Tres Leches

  1. Looks really tasty, Tres Leches is one thing I have never tried to make on my own. Actually from the picture the bread looks a little dry, at least compared to those I have had, but Its probably sweeter than it looks.

    Personally I am not a huge fan of whip cream and would consider using something else on the top of this recipe. Maybe nuts? Interesting possibilities….

    • Thank you for your comment! At first I thought the bread would be soggy, but I’m glad to say it wasn’t! If you like super-moist Tres Leches, you could probably add all of the milky-mixture to it.
      I used whipped cream and nutmeg to decorate the cake, but nuts and even fruits could’ve been used instead, depending on what you like better!

Leave a Reply

