Chicken Fajitas in a Crock-pot!

A while ago my family and I ate at a Mexican Restaurant and we all ordered some type of Fajita. I still remember filling my warm tortilla with the stuffing from my own hot little circular iron griddle. The filling was steamy hot and the meal as a whole was delicious!

With that in mind, yesterday I made Chicken Fajitas for dinner. I was really excited about making it because 1) they’re so good and 2) I made them in our crock-pot, which we got recently and I hadn’t used yet! This was a great recipe to start off my ‘crock-pot cooking’ experience!

A few notes on the recipe: If you don’t have garlic powder feel free to use minced garlic cloves. Also,I thawed the chicken breasts before cutting them into strips and cooking them. If your chicken breasts are still frozen, you may need to cook them a little longer than six hours. You can find the original recipe at Food.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lb chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 1 onion, cut into medium-small wedges and separated
  • 1 lemon’s juice
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 green bell peppers, thinly sliced
  • warm tortillas
  • Fajita toppings (shredded cheese, sour cream, salsa, lettuce,etc)

Method:

Place the chicken, onions, and peppers in your crock-pot. Sprinkle the spices and lemon juice on top and stir well. Cook on low for 4-6 hours. Enjoy wrapped in a tortilla with your favorite toppings!

Add the spices, cook on low, and enjoy!

Add the spices, cook on low, and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Fajitas in a Crock-pot!

Leave a Reply

